Trode Publications is the proud recipient of both Reader's Favorite Five Star Reviews and Foreword Indies Book of the Year Finalist

5star-shiny-web
thumbnail_indies-finalist-imprint
Cover by JuanBJuan Oliver
Cover by JuanBJuan Oliver
Artwork by JuanBJuan Oliver
Artwork by JuanBJuan Oliver

Flintebetty Flonagan is a young girl who finds a wanted ad in her hometown. A booger hunter's apprentice? What's that? The answer to that question will take her on a strange adventure which will changer her life!

The Booger Hunter's Apprentice is a brand new illustrated children's book featuring the talents of JuanBJuan Oliver, with story written by Benoit Chartier. Available here as an ebook, and on Amazon for hardcover edition.

Ready to find out more?

Afterdeath

Afterdeath was  nominated for book of the year in YA fiction by Foreword Reviews Indies Awards.

Chloe and Olivia Borders haven't had the best of luck in their lives. Their parents died tragically when they were young, and the woman who raised them, grandma Rose, has just passed away. To rekindle their friendship, the twins decide to go on a nation-wide road trip. On the first leg of their journey, disaster strikes and they are both snuffed. Waking up on the other side, however, they have to come to grips with the fact that the afterlife is nothing like either of them imagined. Now they are in a fight for their very existence, and on a quest to return to the world of the living.

Cover by Cryssy Cheung
Cover by Cryssy Cheung
Artword by Ken Ry
Artword by Ken Ry
Cover by Vitaly Alexius
Cover by Vitaly Alexius

Red Nexus Novel: First in the Spectrum Series

Once part of the Tokyo elite, Wen Harkwell lost his status when his mother died, and now he’s forced to labor in the depths of the city, far from the easy life of the Heights, struggling to support his thirteen-year-old brother Sammy. By day he toils in a factory and by night he digs for scrap in the infamous Heap under the city. One night Wen is drawn to an old book he finds and risks taking it home—a quick decision with devastating consequences.

Soon after, Sammy is kidnapped, and when Wen turns to a friend and coworker for help, the two find themselves embroiled in a secret high-tech operation that will stop at nothing to maintain their ciphered code. When Wen realizes that the same corporation connected to his mother’s disappearance is behind the attack, he knows he must do whatever it takes to save his brother—even if it means working for the enemy.

In the vein of William Gibson and A. A. Attanasio, Benoit Chartier’s Red Nexus is a dystopian sci-fi adventure full of fascinating technology, fast-paced action, and plenty of heart.

Red Nexus was an Indiefab Book of the Year Finalist for Science Fiction. Join the newsletter to find out when the next ones are coming!

An eclectic new collection of twelve short stories, The Calumnist Malefesto: And Other Improbable Yarns offers a glimpse into important and universal themes in today’s culture while employing an enjoyable and unique approach. Excitedly telling the stories of a young reader, an Afghan girl and her alien pet, two freedom fighters, a stranded extraterrestrial, an elderly gentleman and his long awaited visitor, a Japanese boy, Purgatory’s exam room, a humanoid android, a resuscitated astrophysicist, and a few others, the book uses an assortment of amusing stories to connect readers to the deeper underlying messages. While the stories’ characters are all different, they must all take steps to overcome their particular situations, and how they go about it will affect their realities forever.The Calumnist Malefesto explores the universal themes of religious belief, love, acceptance, tolerance, hatred, and the nature of humanity. Employing science-fiction and semi-theological themes, these entertaining stories are conveyed with serious underlying messages. Many of these wonderful stories employ a lighthearted approach to soften the underlying dramatic nature of the messages. An excellent collection of stories that span a wide array of serious and insightful themes, this fantastic book will keep readers engrossed from the opening pages. Truly offering something for everyone, The Calumnist Malefesto runs the gamut between science-fiction, fantasy-theological, and plain fictional works. With underlying themes that bind them together, the book’s varying genres add a priceless excitement and flexibility to the messages that it’s trying to convey. Written in an accessible manner that makes it an easy and enjoyable read, this enlightening collection of stories is perfect for readers from all walks of life. Written to resonate with readers on many different levels, The Calumnist Malefesto offers multiple stories, with no clear focus, yet all with deeper, sometimes philosophical, meanings. From freedom fighters to stranded extraterrestrials, this amazing collection offers something for everyone to enjoy, while exploring the critical themes that affect us all. An excitingly eclectic mix of fiction, this wonderful collection will keep readers thinking long after the last page has turned.

Cover by Cory Tibbits
Cover by Cory Tibbits
Artwork by François Chartier
Artwork by François Chartier
Cover by Curtis Tiegs
Cover by Curtis Tiegs
Symbol created by Morgan Dunbar
Symbol created by Morgan Dunbar

Universal Wisdom is an entertaining, unique, and thoughtful guide to life. Battling his own challenges, Benoit Chartier spent ten years of his life writing this book as way to help guide his children through the highs and lows of existence on this planet. In a no-holds-barred dialogue, Benoit addresses love, hate, religion, drugs, philosophy, social economics, the universe itself, and our part in keeping it all together, to name a few. He tackles issues that most people think, but are afraid to talk about, and makes one take stock of their own lives. Although the book was originally intended as a ‘handbook to life’ for his children, this is a must read for everyone.

We are all, at the base, human. What defines us, what differentiates us, are the stories we tell each other and ourselves. What we believe to be true, and hold as our anchors in this world of turmoil, in the end unite us and divide us. Transcendence makes us look beyond what we perceive, whether the human condition, or merely our animal nature. We are, each and every day, presented with choices. How we handle them, overcome them, or even succumb to them, is ultimately a reflection of that nature. These stories and poems come from around the globe, and are written as a collaboration in and of transcendence.

Cover by Abigail Baia.
Cover by Abigail Baia.
The heart surrounded by two electrons.

NEW! Universal Wisdom T-Shirts, in all shapes, colors and sizes!

These stylish T-Shirts represent our philosophy at Trode Publications. Universal Wisdom boils down to this: Love is our power source, and science is our guide. It's that simple. Now you too can proudly own a Universal Wisdom T, or one of a variety of products available from the store. Click the link to find out more!

thirty at thirty

Thirty at Thirty

This is the OIW's newest anthology celebrating its thirty years of existence, and includes thirty short stories and poems by various member authors  to mark this momentous occasion.

yak
ADVENTURE_IN_YOUR_EAR_LOGO

What the Yak?

What do yaks have to do with adventures, you might ask, which is a fair question, and I'll answer it, but first I should ask you: what do yaks not have to do with adventure? That's the real question, isn't it? On the one hand, you have far-flung space sagas, the trials and tribulations of famous scientists (some more dead than others), viking demigods getting screwed around, as well as some pretty super unnatural stuff. And then you have yaks. What did the yaks ever do to deserve any of this? Plenty. Gods, if you only knew. Suffice it to say that if you click on this link, you'll discover a world full of adventure and yaks. So go ahead. I'm waiting. Go on. Just click the damn thing, will you?

"Ideas float in the ether like dust motes dancing in a jag of sunlight. When they collide and coalesce, they plummet to earth to plant themselves in rich, loamy strata, and birth the most interesting of human (and sometimes inhuman) dramas. We at Trode Publications like to think of ourselves as the biographers of those strange and tortuous ideas that grow into bizarre and wonderful shapes. Follow us on their journey to see where they lead."

Where to now?

Why not click on the 'Learn More' buttons beneath the books, or check out the 'About Us' section? If you're feeling particularly adventurous, peruse a Blog entry.